The Forbidden City, Beihai Park & Qianhainanyan

As Rob and I just have 3 whole days here in Beijing we’re trying to make the most of them. Yesterday the main  attraction was The Forbidden CIty, but we also went to Beihai Park and Qianhainanyan as they were close by.  As it’s national week here in China now there was obviously loads and loads of people at Tiananman square and in the Forbidden City. There was also loads of people working though so the line to get tickets was shorter than I expected.  The Forbidden City is really a treasure – so many old buildings  you can get lost. We made a couple of chinese girls take a picture of us in front of the entrance, but I decided to post the one they made me take of them and Rob instead – way funnier ^^

Rob and I walked arround in the Forbidden City for about 2hours taking pictures and looking at all of the beautifull old buildings. Close to The Forbidden City there is a huge park with even more great buildings and a big lake  you can rent a boat to explore. We had lunch there as well, really nice to enjoy a good meal, cold beer and a nice wiew with a nice guy ^^Last time I was in Beijing I stumbled upon a nice slightly smaller lake with some restaurants and stores arround it, you can rent a boat for this one as well and I really liked it. In 2009 we could never find our way back there somehow, but yesterday I stumbled upon it again and now I know the place is called Qianhainanyan! 🙂 Really liked it there and I rented a boat this time as well – I even got to drive ^^

(some of these pictures are from Rob’s camera – thanks Rob ^^)

Leave a Reply

