The Temple of Heavens, The Pearl Market and Beijing Zoo

Sorry that it has been so long since my last post. I have been busy travelling arround in Beijing and Nanjing – the good news is: now you get to hear all about it! 🙂 The second day in Beijing Rob and I decided to have a look at the temple of heavens. I didn’t get a chance to go there the last time I went to Beijing so I was happy to go there now.  The temple is located in a big park with various old buildings and a big wood – it was nice not to see so many tall buildings for a change. I liked the temple itself, and some of the smaller buildings were nice as well.

After a few hours of looking at old buildings Rob and I headed for the Pearl Market ( that is actually right next to the park). Rob had never been to a haggle market before and it wasn’t hard to make me  join ^^  I managed not to buy too much, got a pair of jeans and Rob bought me a watch. Rob found some shoes for his sister and a tie. He was very happy with half the initial price while I was trying to make him bargain even more, hehe.

We still had some time after the market, but not enought to go very far. Looking at the subway map I saw Beijing Zoo and we decided that seeing pandas is an important part of ghoing to China. When we got to the zoo it was closing in one hour so we had to rush thorough it to find the pandahouse. We did make it to the adorable pandas in time though and we also saw some other animals on the way. like giraffes and kangaroos.

Leave a Reply

