Gaypride Amsterdam

Last weekend my brother Ludvig came to visist, so we obviously wanted to show him Amsterdam. As it happened, we actually somehow ended up going the same day as the boat parade of the Amsterdam Gaypride, and I got to say it was pretty impressive. While Norway has become really good in terms of gay rights, I think the Netherlands still is just a few steps ahead. In Amsterdam, not only gay people join the gaypride – it has become a party for everybody, and it is all about being proud of who you are. Everyone was out in the streets celebrating, from the most obvious gays to whole families joining the festivities with their children. We ran into the actual parade several times while sightseeing and saw quite a few boats.

What actually impressed me the most was seeing the church of Amsterdam though, there was a huge gaypride banner hanging from the clock tower. That was the last place I expected to see it, and it really took me by surprise.

While I am straight myself and I only went to Amsterdam gaypride by chance, I have to say I was really impressed with how far this country have come in accepting gays and their rights – brilliant! 🙂

Leave a Reply

