Mzima Springs

Image

The Mzima Springs is a series of natural springs located in Tsavo West. With a little luck it is possible to spot both hippos and crocodiles in the springs, so obviously Rob and I had to go have a look. As we arrived, we were met by a park ranger holding a pretty big gun. He was also wearing army clothes, so we felt a little bit intimidated.

The ranger turned out to be a really nice guy though, and he reassured us that the gun was not  for us – it was a security measure because of the wild animals living in the area. He took us to the first pool which seemed pretty empty, but still quite beautiful:

Image

We walked over to the little hut, that turned out to be partialy under water. We went inside and were able to see a lot of fish living in the spring – not quite hippos or crocodiles, but still pretty nice. The water really is very clear, so it is easy to see the animals.

Image

As I got out of the hut I managed to grab a photo of the ranger as well, hehe 🙂

Image

We moved on to the next spring, where we found a couple of crocodiles – unlike the ones I have seen at various zoos growing up, these were actually moving around (at least every now and then) and I got a couple of cool pictures of them:

Image

Image

I really enjoyed my visit to Mzima Springs, and I was very happy to see some crocodiles as we didn’t find them in any of the other parks 🙂

5 responses to “Mzima Springs

  1. I just loved your Blog! I am moving to a different country as well, main reason why I created my blog in fact, and you Blog felt super inspiring to me! Thank you so much! 🙂 Hope you enjoy all your adventures! I will follow you for sure! 🙂

  2. Just wanted to share my hiliarious travel blog with a fellow traveler. Hope you enjoy mine as much as I have enjoyed yours.
    http://www.atruetalltale.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

